New Delhi: Voting will be held in the Parliament House today for the election of the new Vice President of the country. The contest is between Jagdeep Dhankhar of the National Democratic Alliance and Margaret Alva, the joint candidate of the opposition. If you look at the figures, Jagdeep Dhankhar, the former Governor of West Bengal, seems to have a heavy edge as compared to Margaret Alva. Differences have also come to the fore in the opposition parties regarding the Vice Presidential election. West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee-led Trinamool Congress has announced to abstain from the voting process, citing attempts to build consensus before the announcement of Margaret Alva’s name.

Let us tell you that Margaret Alva (80) is a senior Congress leader and has been the Governor of Rajasthan. Telangana Rashtra Samithi, Aam Aadmi Party and Jharkhand Mukti Morcha, AIMIM have announced their support for Alva. Looking at the support of political parties that Margaret Alva has received so far, it is estimated that she can get close to 200 votes. On the other hand there is Jagdeep Dhankhar (71), who belongs to the influential Jat community of Rajasthan. His background has been socialist. Janata Dal United, YSR Congress, Bahujan Samaj Party, AIADMK, Biju Janata Dal and Shiv Sena have announced their support for Dhankhar. With the support of these parties, the NDA candidate is expected to get close to 515 votes.

More than 390 votes needed to win, BJP alone has 394 MPs

Voting will be held in Parliament House from 10 am to 5 pm. Soon after this the votes will be counted and by late evening the name of the new Vice President of the country will be announced by the Returning Officer. M. Venkaiah Naidu’s term as Vice President ends on August 10 and the new Vice President will take oath on August 11. All the members of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha are included in the electoral college for the Vice Presidential election. Nominated members of both the houses are also eligible to vote in the Vice-President’s election. The current strength of the members of both the houses of Parliament together is 788, out of which only BJP has 394 MPs. To win the Vice Presidential election, a candidate needs more than 390 votes to win.

Read more…


Source link

Previous articleDecision came in Tamil Nadu’s killing of 3 dalits 4 years ago, life imprisonment to 27 convicts
Next articleBumper discount on smartphones, buy your favorite phone today


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here